FNB Shimlas obliterated by FNB NWU

FNB Varsity Cup

FNB Shimlas proved to be no competition for FNB NWU, who sealed their fifth victory of the season after winning 58-21 at the Fanie du Toit Sports Grounds.

FNB NWU got the game off to a great start, with Dean Gordon scoring a seven-point try within the first two minutes of the game, putting FNB NWU 9-0 ahead.

After 15 minutes of play FNB Shimlas managed to get their first points on the board through a try by Albertus de Bod. Lubabalo Dobela managed the conversion, leaving his team trailing by two points going into the first strategy break.

Evardi Boshoff was his elusive self, sliding past the FNB Shimlas defence and finding the try line. Hugo missed the conversion but FNB NWU were still 14-7 ahead. Tiaan Bezuidenhout came from the blind side of a scrum to find the try line, scoring for FNB NWU and Hugo had no problem slotting an extra two points.

Chriswill September scored a sensational seven-point try and FNB NWU’s bonus-point try right under the poles, making it easier for Hugo to convert. Going into half time, FNB NWU led 30-7. Schalk Hugo marshalled play to set up AK Nela’s try right under the poles, putting the score at 37-7 for FNB NWU after 50 minutes of play.

FNB Shimlas’ misery continued when Albertus de Bod was sin-binned for foul play and Louis van der Westhuizen added another try to FNB NWU’s tally, but Hugo missed the conversion. With five minutes left to play, Mafura got a try in the corner after having his first try ruled out by a TMO referral.  Hugo kicked a tight conversion, leaving FNB Shimlas chasing 49-21.

In the dying minutes of the game, Jimmy Mpailane outpaced FNB Shimlas and scored the last try of the game. Hugo managed yet another tight conversion, leaving the final score at 58-21 for FNB NWU.

FNB Player That Rocks: Schalk Hugo (FNB NWU).

: Dean Gordon (1), Evardi Boshoff (1). Tiaan Bezuidenhout (1), Chriswill September (1), AK Nela (1), Louis van der Westhuizen (1), Tapiwa Mafura (1), Jimmy Mpailane (1).
Cons: Schalk Hugo (6)

FNB Shimlas: 21
: Albertus de Bod (1), Athi Halom (1), Francois Agenbug (1).
Cons: Lubabalo Dobela (2).
Yellow: Albertus de Bod

15 Tapiwa Mafura, 14 Dean Gordon, 13 Evardi Boshoff, 12 AK Nela, 11 Dean Stokes, 10 Schalk Hugo, 9 Chriswill September, 8 Tiaan Bezuidenhout, 7 Estehan Visagie, 6 Gideon van der Merwe, 5 Walt Steenkamp, 4 Johan Retief, 3 Robert Hunt, 2 Louis van der Westhuizen, 1 Matima Maganyi.
Substitutes: 16 Percy Mngadi, 17 Nelius Theron, 18 Theodore Ferreira, 19 Jaco Swanepoel, 20 Wandi Mazibuko, 21 Nkosana Mbatha, 22 Ryno Wepener, 23 Jimmy Mpailane

FNB Shimlas: 15 Sechaba Matsoele, 14 Athi Halom, 13 Carel Coetzee, 12 Francois Pretorius, 11 Francois Agenbag, 10 Lubabalo Dobela, 9 Rewan Kruger, 8 Albertus de Bod, 7 Menzi Nhlabathi, 6 Benjamin Jansen van Vuuren, 5 Raymond Woest, 4 Sibabalo Qoma, 3 Mogau Mabokela, 2 Hanno Snyman, 1 Johan Kotze.
Substitutes: 16 JC Jansen van Vuuren, 17 Wentzel Vorster, 18 Janu Botha, 19 Bernadus Erasmus, 20 Janco Cloete, 21 Zinedine Booysen, 22 Ayabonga Opliphant, 23 Christiaan Schutte