Miss Varsity Cup and Miss Varsity Shield is all about empowerment in 2020

The FNB Varsity Cup is about so much more than just rugby.

Over the past 11 years, each university also participated in the Miss Varsity Cup and Miss Varsity Shield competitions. These competitions allowed rugby’s female supporters to show their backing for their respective teams and participate in the various fundraising activities.

In 2020, the competition is all about the empowerment of women within their universities and giving them a platform to give back to their communities.

The purpose of the Miss Varsity Cup and Miss Varsity Shield competition is to focus on empowering candidates off the field in the way that the FNB Varsity Cup inspires those on the field.

This is not a beauty contest, but an opportunity awarded to candidates who want to establish themselves in the world. We want candidates that exude leadership and live the FNB Varsity Cup brand.

The FNB Varsity Cup brand believes in changing lives and creating better futures for our youth through sport and the Miss Varsity Cup competition is no different.

Once again, each university will carry out their own internal Miss Varsity Cup selection process in 2020. Stay tuned to university's social media channels and bulletin boards for more info...

2019 Winners:
Miss Varsity Cup - Ayabonga Zansi from Maties
Miss Varsity Shield - Lekeesha Adams from UKZN
2017 Winners:
Miss Varsity Cup - Gizelle Venske from Tuks
Miss Varsity Shield - Khensani Maseko from Rhodes

2016 Winners:
Miss Varsity Cup - Joy Mashego from Maties
Miss Varsity Shield - Angel Phindile Ndimande from UKZN

2015 Winners:
Miss Varsity Cup - Demi-Leigh Nel-Peters from NWU
Miss Varsity Shield - Mbalenhle Ngidi from UKZN

2014 Winners:
Miss Varsity Cup - Zené van Blerk from UJ
Miss Varsity Shield - Michelle Crichton from UKZN

2013 Winners:
​​​​​​​Miss Varsity Cup - Sasha-Lee Olivier from UJ
Miss Varsity Shield - Sandi Maluleka from UKZN

2012 Winners:
Miss Varsity Cup - Cayla Esterhuysen from Tuks
​​​​​​​Miss Varsity Shield - Shirvonne Reent from UWC

2011 Winner: 
Miss Varsity Cup - Erena Stofberg from NWU

2010 Winner:
​​​​​​​Miss Varsity Cup - Marilet Branders from UJ

2009 Winner:
Miss Varsity Cup - Jennifer Arlow from Maties