All-time Varsity Cup Dream Team

FNB Varsity Cup

It’s been just over a decade of Rugby That Rocks. In that time 44 players have gone on to earn Springbok caps. Varsity Cup decided to put together a potential Varsity Cup all-time ‘Dream Team’. How well would this side fare in a Super Rugby competition or even against an international team? Who would you bring in or kick out? Let us know.

1. Trevor Nyakane (FNB CUT 2011-2012)
A diverse prop with 37 Springbok caps. Nyakane would slot in at loosehead to allow for Vincent Koch to fill the tighthead position. We're going with experience and power up front.

2. Malcolm Marx (FNB UJ 2013)
It's hard to belive that Marx is just 24. With his 23 Test caps and being crowned the 2017 SA Rugby Player of the Year, he is currently one of the best hookers in world rugby and his selection is a no-brainer.

3. Vincent Koch (FNB Tuks 2012)
Koch has become a vital cog in the Saracens mean machine. While he has been presented with limited opportunities in the Green and Gold, he has proven his worth over the past four years in the UK. He also has a knack for scoring tries.

4. Eben Etzebeth (FNB UCT 2011)
One of the greatest locks in Springbok history and notching up 74 Test caps at the age of 27, the former UCT man selects himself here. And you wouldn’t dare argue with him!

5. Franco Mostert (FNB Tuks 2010-2012)
It was a close call between Mostert and De Jager, but the former has been selected on 2018 form, with De Jager spending most of the season recovering from injury.

6. Jaco Kriel (FNB UJ 2012)
The tall, powerful flanker has recently moved to Gloucester, but spent the past seven years winning over Lions fans with his passion and grit. Varsity Cup fans love nothing more than passion.

7. Nizaam Carr (FNB UCT 2011)
Carr is another member of FNB UCT’s strong 2011-2012 squad. Joining the London Wasps, he quickly made an impact with his new team. He was also a key member of FNB UCT’s squad in 2011 and will be a key member of this one for sure.

8. Oupa Mohoje (FNB Shimlas 2011-2014)
The Free State man made 22 appearances for FNB Shimlas and won the 2013 FNB Player That Rocks award. He has enjoyed mixed fortunes of late, but is a Varsity Cup favourite through and through.

9. Rudy Paige (FNB UJ 2011-2012)
Another close call between Paige and Nic Groom, but with Paige’s Test experience, he edges Groom here.

10. Handré Pollard (FNB Tuks 2013)
Pollard won the 2013 Varsity Cup with FNB Tuks and was a significant figure in both, helping them reach the final, and winning it. His performance included kicking 6 from 6 in their final against FNB Maties.

11. Aphiwe Dyantyi (FNB UJ 2017)
Seriously though, do we need to explain this selection?

12. Rohan Janse van Rensburg (FNB Tuks 2014)
This 6ft1, 109kg beast is the fifth FNB Tuks member of the starting 15. Technically still old enough to play in the Varsity Cup at just 24, he still has a lot to offer and a lengthy career ahead. We’re tipping him for big things… starting with us (again).

13. Juan de Jongh (FNB Maties 2008)
The OG. De Jongh was the first-ever Varsity Cup Springbok, winning the first-ever trophy with FNB Maties. He’s loving life at Wasps, in the UK. On his current form and because we’re so sentimental, we’ve put our number one at no.13.

14. Seabelo Senatla (FNB CUT 2012)
Pace, pace, pace. If Senatla and Dyantyi on the wings doesn’t scare you, take a second look. While Senatla hasn’t made his mark in the 15-man format yet, we believe in him and by now you should know that Varsity Cup is where dreams are realised.

15. Curwin Bosch (FNB UKZN 2016)
The second Varsity Shield player in our starting 15 – the versatile Bosch is one for the future. Needless to say he set the competition alight back in 2016. He’s still just 21, but we’re all about youth.

Do you even bench, bro? We do – check these guys out:
16. Bongi Mbonambi (FNB TUT FNB and FNB Tuks 2013)
17. Coenie Oosthuizen (FNB Shimlas 2008)
18. Wilco Louw (FNB Tuks Young Guns 2013)
19. Lood de Jager (FNB NWU 2012)
20. Uzair Cassiem (FNB UWC 2012)
21. Nic Groom (FNB UCT 2011)
22. Andries Coetzee (FNB Tuks 2011)
23. Damian de Allende (FNB UCT 2012)