FNB Madibaz run riot in PE

FNB Varsity Shield

FNB Madibaz had a point to prove having been recently relegated to this year's FNB Varsity Shield for the first time and they came out and showed their dominance with a strong 38-21 win to open their Varsity Shield account.

It was a slow start for both sides, with the first 10 minutes gone and without either side threatening their opposition trylines. Their hands and discipline let them down in crucial moments, which could be chalked down to nerves.

Both teams opted to give the penalty kicking a skip, running rugby was the goal for the evening.

It took a great run from the FNB Madibaz captain, Riaan Esterhuizen, to break the line and set up Josiah Twum-Boafo for the opening try straight after the first strategic break and another great run from the captain to score a try of his own to extend their lead to 14-0.

FNB CPUT struck back through a try from Ameer Hendricks just before half time to cut the lead to 14-7 at the end of the first half. They were unfortunate to not carry that momentum into the second half, while FNB Madibaz managed to score a try after deciding to not go for the penalty kick right in front of the poles. The FNB Player that Rocks, Thembekile Boltina, crossed the line for the home side.

This was followed by both sides scoring in very quick succession to keep the crowd of 2500+ entertained with exciting running rugby.

With 10 minutes remaining, the running rugby continued with the score reaching 33-21 to the home side. Which included an amazing individual try from FNB CPUT scrum half George-Lee Erasmus. While Dirk Ferreira and Dundre Maritz extended the lead for FNB Madibaz.

With the crowd in full voice, Christopher Hollis scored a brilliant individual try of his own to show the dominance of the home side on the night.

FNB Madibaz will be proud of their performance and will be happy to have made a statement for the season ahead.

FNB Madibaz : 38
Josiah Twum-Boafo, Riaan Esterhuizen, Thembekile Boltina, Dundre Maritz, Dirk Ferreira, Christopher Hollis
Cons: Jordan Koekemoer (4)

Ameer Hendricks, Colin April, George-Lee Erasmus
Cons: Ralton October (3)

FNB Player that Rocks: Thembekile Boltina (FNB Madibaz)
Steers Kinging Moment: Charles Radebe (FNB Madibaz)

FNB Madibaz Starting XV:
15 Simon Bolze, 11 Charles Radebe, 13 Ivan-John Du Preez, 12 Riaan Esterhuizen (C), 14 Josiah Twum-Boafo, 10 Jordan Koekemoer, 9 Dundre Maritz, 8 Bevan Prinsloo, 7 Nathan Gogela, 6 Stephanus Nieuwoudt, 5 Robert Izaks, 4 Ikhetheleng Nkhereanye, 3 Kuhle Mokhoabane, 2 Tembekile Boltina, 1 Tembelihle Yase
Replacements: 16 Ruan Jonker, 17 Keegan Branford, 18 Laken Grey, 19 Dirk Ferreira, 20 Sibusiso Ngcokovane, 21 Christopher Hollis, 22 Yomelela Keswa, 23 Bunganga Magwentshu

FNB CPUT Starting XV: 15 Randy Brinkhuis, 14 Peter-John Rencs, 13 Lunathi Nxele (C), 12 Julrick Lewis, 11 Asisipho Malotana, 10 Ralton October, 9 George-Lee Erasmus, 8 Colin April, 7 PW Koeglenberg, 6 Butsha Mputa, 5 Bradley Van Boven, 4 Ameer Hendricks, 3 Jeandri Coetzee, 2 Keadon Consul, 1 De Angelo Williams

Replacements: 16 Bekithemba Gqibithole, 17 Boris Hatoekimana, 18 Thembalihle Njadu, 19 Xavier Myburgh, 20 Anenceba Salman, 21 Blaine Marcus, 22 Christopher Andrews, 23 Hendricks Bjorkan