FNB Maroela defend Tuks FNB Res Rugby League title

FNB Varsity Cup, Koshuis Rugby

FNB Maroela held off a strong effort from FNB AOB to beat the newcomers 31-27 (halftime 21-17) in the Tuks FNB Res Rugby League final at the Tuks Rugby Stadium on Tuesday, 28 August.

The Tuks FNB Res Rugby champions led from the get go but the result was not secured until the final whistle as FNB AOB kept themselves within striking distance on a perfect, albeit chilly, evening for rugby.

FNB Maroela attacking intent in the first half was rewarded as Ricus Fourie, Anthony McGregor and Dean Koch crossed the whitewash with Francois Esselen adding the extras.

FNB AOB made their presence known in the first half as they did well to keep their heads up in their first FNB Res Rugby final with Willandre Kotze and Marnus Aucamp dotting down for five pointers while Hanco Deal was on hand to kick two conversions and a penalty goal.

The visitors may have equaled FNB Maroela's score in the second half as Marnus Aucamp grabbed his brace with Deal successfully converting his effort and added another penalty goal but the champions secured the result with a try to Eric Fourie which sharpshooter Esselen converted along with a penalty goal that shut out a resilient FNB AOB outfit.

FNB Maroela 31
Ricus Fourie, Anthony McGregor, Dean Koch, Eric Fourie
Conversions: Francois Esselen (4)
Penalty: Esselen

 Willandre Kotze, Marnus Aucamp (2)
Conversions: Hanco Deal (3)
Penalty: Deal (2).