FNB Maties dismantle FNB UCT at the Green Mile

FNB Varsity Cup

In what can only be described has a hammering in one of the biggest clashes of the FNB Varsity Cup calendar, FNB Maties travelled to the Green Mile to dismantle the FNB UCT team 66-5.

The first quarter of the game was staged with gruelling physicality from both sides, but it was at the 19 minute mark when Johann van Niekerk for FNB Maties opened the floodgates, allowing the visitors to cross the Ikeys tryline 10 times in total.

The FNB Maties were able to maintain the possession throughout the game and translated moments of nothing into magic. Not to take away any of the glory or brilliant performance displayed by FNB Maties, but the Ikeys never quite made use of the crunch-time opportunities – often conceding soft turnovers.

At one stage, FNB UCT did show signs of a fight back when eighth man Nyasha Tarusenga put the Ikeys on the board, placing the scores at 19-5 in favour of the FNB Maties. But it would be their missed chances that the Ikeys may be most disappointed in.

The reigning champions showed their class in their away win over FNB UCT and displayed to the crowds why they currently hold the number one spot. Despite the score, the Ikeys should not go into the changing room with their heads down, as they will undoubtedly take a lot from the defeat. They will have time to lick their wounds with their next match against FNB UJ a fortnight from tonight. The Ikeys may breathe a sigh of relief, knowing they have a bye next week, as it will undoubtedly be back to the drawing board.

FNB Player That Rocks: Cornel Smit (FNB Maties)
Steers Kinging Moment: Edwill van der Merwe (FNB Maties)

FNB Maties: 66
 Logan Bonzaaier, Cornel Smit (4), Stefan Streicher (7-point try), Edwill van der Merwe, Johan Momsen, Jordan Clee, Duncan Saal
Conversions: Jordan Chait (3), Brendon Nell (1), Reinhardt Fortuin(2)

Nyasha Tarusenga

FNB Maties:
15. Edwill van der Merwe, 14. Duncan Saal, 13. Cornel Smit, 12. Chris Smit, 11. Munier Hartzenberg, 10. Jordan Chait, 9. Logan Boonzaaier, 8. Stefan Streicher, 7. Ernst van Rhyn, 6. Johann van Niekerk, 5.Johan Momsen (C), 4. Jordan Sesink-Clee 3. Piet-Louw Strauss, 2. HJ Luus, 1. Ricky Nwagbara.

Replacements: 16. Dan Jooste, 17. Wayrin Losper, 18. Leon Lyons, 19. Ben-Jason Dixon, 20. Mitchell Carstens, 21. Brendon Nell, 22. Reinhardt Fortuin, 23. Thoko Seerane.

FNB UCT: 15 Darian Hock, 14 Rayno Mapoe, 13 Siba Mzanywa, 12 Robbie Ball, 11 Thobekani Buthelezi,  10 Michael Brink, 9 Stef de Gouveia, 8 Nyasha Tarusenga, 7 Josh Moon (C), 6 Niel Otto (C), 5 David Meihuizen, 4 Duncan Saffy, 3 Michael Kumbirai, 2 Cuan Hablutzel, 1 Ashwyn Adams.

Replacements: 16 Brenton Greaves, 17 Ntando Mpofana, 18 Simon Raw, 19 Gary Porter, 20 Tawanda Mutuma, 21 Lance Steytler, 22 Kyle Bowman, 23 Jonty Bredell.