FNB Maties Young Guns outplay FNB NWU Young Guns to claim 2019 title

FNB Varsity Cup, Young Guns

The FNB Maties Young Guns came out on top in a thrilling encounter at the Danie Craven Stadium when they beat the FNB NWU Young Guns 32-22 on Monday 15 April 2019.

FNB Maties Young Guns opened the scoring through Thoubaan Daniels who snuck in the corner to put FNB Maties 5-0 up after less than five minutes of play. They went down to fourteen men after Dian Bleuler was sent to the sin bin for ten minutes.

Andre Fouche took advantage of FNB Maties only having fourteen men on the field when he scored right under the poles and Tristan Oosthuizen nailed the conversion to put FNB NWU 7-5 up.

Jean-Jacques Kotze scored for FNB Maties to give them back the lead, but Sylvester Hassien replied immediately for FNB NWU when he took a quick penalty and ran the ball by himself to reclaim a narrow two point advantage. Matthys Kitshoff edged FNB Maties ahead when he scored on the cusp of half time to take the score to 15-10.

FNB Maties got the second half underway when Thoubaan Gabriels scored his second try of the match and Christopher Schreuder got his first conversion to take a comfortable ten-point lead.

Siyabonga Khoza scored twice for FNB NWU to draw level with FNB Maties with less than half an hour left to play. FNB Maties were again reduced to fourteen men when Matthys Kitshoff got the second yellow card of the game, but Sibabalwe Xamlashe scored and pushed FNB Maties further ahead. Christopher Schreuder added the extra two to take FNB Maties 29-22 up with fifteen minutes left of the final.

FNB NWU had more than one opportunity to get level but FNB Maties’ defence was strong enough to hold them off and maintain a seven point lead. A penalty from Christopher Schreuder in the last five minutes took the score to 32-22 and secured the trophy for FNB Maties, who were the only team to remain undefeated in the 2019 FNB Young Guns competition.


FNB Maties Young Guns: 32
: Thoubaan Gabriels (2), Jean-Jacques Kotze, Matthys Kotze, Sibabalwe Xamalasha
Conversions: Christopher Schreuder (3)
Penalties: Christopher Schreuder
Yellow cards: Dian Bleuler, Matthys Kitshoff.

FNB NWU Young Guns: 22
Andre Fouche, Sylvester Hassien, Siyabonga Khoza (2)
Conversions: Tristan Oosthuizen

FNB Maties Young Guns: 15. Navaldoi Fleurs, 14. Sibabalwe Xamlashe, 13. Divan Enslin, 12. Daniel Dercksen, 11. Thoubaan Gabriels, 10. Christopher Schreuder, 9. Luciano Elias, 8. Marcel Theunnisen, 7. DeWet Marais, 6. Sean-Douglas Van Binsbergen, 5. Hermanus le Roux, 4. Matthys Kitshoff, 3. Ronan Witten, 2. Jean-Jacques Kotze, 1. Dian Bleuler.

16. Willem van der Merwe, 17. Marthinus Strauss, 18. Joshua du Preez, 19. Siyabonga Matanda, 20. Curtleigh Tobias, 21. Thurston Cloete, 22. Gerrit Hugo, 23. Jan-Daniel Neethling.

FNB NWU Young Guns: 15. Zinedine Robinson, 14. Lehlohonolo Nyelele, 13. Mitchelle van der Merwe, 12. Reinard Jordaan, 11. Siyabonga Khoza, 10. Tristan Oosthuizen, 9. Sylvester Hassien, 8. Andre Fouche, 7. Kagiso Woodbridge, 6. Chris Vermaak, 5. Ernst Nebe, 4. Wihan Nel, 3. Arno Gustafson, 2. Gustav du Rand, 1. Ruben du Plessis.

16. AJ Meyer, 17. Jason Jansen, 18. Lihle Lolwane, 19. Roelof van Heerden, 20. Sheldon Veldsman, 21. Riaan Genis, 22. Lohann Jahns, 23. Emilio Otto.