FNB NWU hold onto semi-final hope with win against FNB UJ

FNB Varsity Cup

FNB NWU got back to winning ways when they beat FNB UJ 19-6 at the Fanie du Toit Stadium in Potchefstroom on Monday night.

FNB NWU kicked off their second home fixture and Chuiner van Rooyen opened the scoring, with debutant Marco Donges adding the two points from the conversion to take an early 7-0 lead.

UJ's PW Steenkamp slotted a penalty to make it 7-3 after ten minutes of play and give the bottom-of-the-log team hope.

NWU then missed a few opportunities to extend their lead before Ruben du Plessis was able to maul his way over the try line, and Donges again added the conversion. Nonetheless, UJ continued to test NWU's defence, but were unable to find the line and opted for the points instead. Unfortunately for Steenkamp, the kick went wide and NWU took a 14-3 lead as the rain began to fall at half-time.

AS IT HAPPENED: Running commentary of how FNB NWU marched past the Orange Army

UJ had the first opportunity of the second half but spoiled the ball on the try line, settling instead for three points from a PW Steenkamp penalty. The Orange Army continued their pursuit for points, but NWU's defence forced handling errors and left them with no way through.

Evardi Boshoff then proved his class when he grubbered the ball for Eugene Hare to dot down over the try line and take a 19-6 lead. NWU desperately tried to score a bonus-point try, but their efforts proved futile as UJ held them off.

FNB Player That Rocks: Evardi Boshoff (FNB NWU)
Steers Kinging Moment: Eugene Hare (FNB NWU)

FNB NWU: 19 (14)

Tries: Chuiner van Rooyen, Ruben du Plessis, Eugene Hare.
Conversions: Marco Donges 2

FNB UJ: 6 (3)
PW Steenkamp 2

FNB NWU: 15 Chuiner van Rooyen, 14 Lungelo Gosa, 13 Lincoln Daniels, 12 Marco Donges, 11 Eugene Hare, 10 Evardi Boshoff, 9 Riaan Genis, 8 Edmund Rheeder (captain), 7 Wandi Mazibuko, 6 Chris Vermaak, 5 Jeandré Leonard, 4 Malembe Mpofu, 3 Matimu Manganyi, 2 Gustav du Rand, 1 Ruben du Plessis.
Replacements: 16 Fanie Mare, 17 Jason Jansen, 18 Ruan Swiegers, 19 Wihan Nel, 20 André Fouché, 21 Caleb Louw, 22 Curtley Scheepers, 23. Khulu Mcuma.
Coach: André Pretorius

FNB UJ: 15 Shaun Williams, 14 Siphamandla Matsinya, 13 Musawenkosi Tshabalala, 12 Siphesihle Radebe, 11 Tatendaishe Mujawo, 10 PW Steenkamp, 9 Divan Henning, 8 Edwin Jansen (captain), 7 Kwagga van Niekerk, 6 Siyabonga Masuku, 5 Simon Dionisio, 4 André Meyer, 3 Chergin Fillies, 2 Pierre Rabie, 1 Luke Fortuin.
Replacements: 16 Hloni Mphuthi, 17 Ethan Jeffery, 18 Coenrad Vrey, 19 Lunga Molele, 20 Kelvin Kanenungo, 21 Mpho Kubheka, 22 Seun Maduna, 23 Shaun-Christian Baxter.
Coach: Dewey Swartbooi