FNB Patria dethrone FNB Vishuis to claim FNB Res Rugby crown

FNB Varsity Cup, Koshuis Rugby

FNB Patria met FNB Vishuis in the final of the FNB Res Rugby competition for the fourth year in a row, and have finally overcome the reigning champions after winning 16-8 at the Danie Craven Stadium on Monday 15 April.

FNB Patria drew first blood when Danco Burger converted the first penalty of the game. Coenie Kruger put FNB Patria further ahead when he fought off two FNB Vishuis defenders to score the first try of the game. Burger made no mistake with his conversion to take FNB Patria up 10-0 after fifteen minutes of play.

Chappo Pieterse put FNB Vishuis on the board when he found the try line, but a missed conversion left them chasing a 10-5 deficit. FNB Patria continued to test FNB Vishuis’ defence but were unable to find a way through. FNB Vishuis’ discipline let them down and Danco Burger made them pay for it when he slotted a penalty to give FNB Patria a 13-5 advantage going into half time.

The second half was filled with opportunities for both teams but neither were able to capitalise. FNB Vishuis came close to narrowing the lead after Geyer Terblanche charged down Danco Burger’s clearance kick, but the ball had already fallen over the dead ball line.

Danco Burger secured the win for FNB Patria when he converted a penalty in the dying seconds of the game to take the score to 16-8 as the final whistle blew.  

Steers Kinging Moment: Coennie Kruger
FNB Player That Rocks: JP Duvenage|

FNB Patria: 16

Tries: Coennie Kruger
Conversions: Danco Burger
Penalties: Danco Burger (3)

FNB Vishuis: 8
Tries: Chappo Pieterse
Penalties: Dale de Wet

FNB Patria: 15.  Martinus Uys, 14. Siphiwe Mbaya, 13. Barend de Klerk, 12. Danco Burger, 11. Life Zulu, 10. Lodewyk Muller, 9. Erhard Bubb, 8. Conrnelius Muller, 7.Jan-Louis Senekal, 6. Rian Kotze, 5. Coennie Kruger, 4. Burger Minnaar, 3. Martin de Villiers, 2. Christo Badenhorst, 1. Steyn Grobler.

16. Heinrich Korff, 17. Carloux Ueckermann, 18. Ajay Willemse, 19. Abrie van der Merwe, 20. Marcel Gouveia, 21. Riaan van der Spuy, 22. Pieter van Zyl, 23. Francois Victor.

FNB Vishuis: 15. Bulela Sotyelelwa, 14. SJ Fourie, 13. Wian van der Walt, 12. JP Duvenage, 11. Thato Mei, 10. Dale de Wet, 9. DC Odendaal, 8. Gerbus van Wyk, 7. Christiaan Swanepoel, 6. Nelius van Heerden, 5. Jan Willem van Niekerk, 4. Nardus Bosman, 3. Steph Brits, 2. Chappo Pieterse, 1. Peter Carrol.

16. Marco Grobler, 17. Abongile Buthelezi, 18. Zander Oberholzer, 19. Eswee De Waal, 20. Chris Booysen, 21. Geyer Terblanche, 22. Marcel Engelbrecht, 23. WJ Kruger.