FNB Shimlas shock FNB UWC at home

FNB Varsity Cup

FNB Shimlas handed FNB Varsity Cup newcomers, FNB UWC their second consecutive defeat, 25-47, at the UWC Rugby Stadium in Bellville on Monday.

The visitors got off to a fiery start in the opening two minutes following a few missed tackles from FNB UWC in the midfield forcing a valiant try-saving tackle out of pivot Aidynn Cupido. Quick recycling at the subsequent ruck, resulted in Sechaba Matsoele cantering over for a 7-point try, Justin Taylor added the extras, 0-9.

FNB UWC replied almost immediately when Lubelo Scott busted the FNB Shimlas defence only to be brought down inches from the visitors' try line. Slippery scrumhalf Clayton Daniels found the smallest of gaps to burrow his way over the try line for the home side's first try, conversion missed, 5-9.

Two penalties via the boot of Lyle Hendricks meant FNB UWC took the lead for the first time as teams headed into the first strategy break, 11-9.

Marnus Boshoff got his first FNB Varsity Cup try when the left winger rounded off a FNB Shimlas move resulting in a 5-point try which was missed, 11-14.

A passage ensued that saw both sides not giving an inch at the breakdown. FNB Shimlas look set to convert some valuable possession and territory into points. Cupido intercepted the ball from deep inside FNB UWC 22, resulting a foot race which the flyhalf won, diving over under the crossbar for a 7-point try. Hendricks added the extras, 20-14.

It seemed like the lead would remain with the hosts, as the first half drew to a close. However, it was men from Bloemfontein that had the final say. Sibabalo Qoma crashed over from close proximity which Taylor converted handing FNB Shimlas a slender one-point 20-21 lead at halftime.

The hosts were pinned back on several occasions, in the second half, resulting in FNB Shimlas gaining the upper-hand on the scoreboard. Three unanswered tries along with a single conversion meant the visitors took a 20-point lead heading into the last quarter of the game.

Compounding matters for the 2018 FNB Varsity Shield champions two players - Reece Bocks and Justin Theys - was sent to the Afkoelstoel (sin bin) minutes apart. Meaning that FNB UWC played with 13 men for nearly five minutes as the players' sanctions overlapped.

First to score was Janco Cloete muscling through a few FNB UWC defenders en route to scoring the visitors fourth and bonus point try which Taylor converted, 20-28. Boshoff got his second 5-point try while a bustling run up the sideline resulted in captain Henk Pretorius rounding off FNB Shimlas' second 7-point try. The visitors taking a commanding 20-40 lead.

Some brilliant footwork from last week's Steers Kinging Moment player, Tristan Leyds, saw Andre Manuel dot down for FNB UWC's third try. This was soon cancelled out by Qoma's second 5-point try, which Taylor converted. Final score 25-47.

Steers Kinging Moment: Andre Manuel
FNB Player That Rocks: Marnus Boshoff

: Clayton Daniels (5 point try), Aidynn Cupido (7 point try), Andre Manuel (7 point try)
Con: Lyle Hendricks
Pens: Hendricks (2)
Yellow Cards: Reece Bocks, Justin Theys

FNB Shimlas: 47
: Sechaba Matsoele (7 point try), Marnus Boshoff (5 point try), Sibabalo Qoma (5 point try), Janco Cloete (5 point try), Marnus Boshoff (5 point try), Henk Pretorius (7 point try), Sibabalo Qoma (5 point try)

Cons: Justin Taylor (4)
Yellow Card: Janco Cloete

15 Tristan Leyds, 14 Juanré de Klerk, 13 Lubelo Scott, 12 Lyle Hendricks, 11 Andre Manuel, 10 Aidynn Cupido, 9 Clayton Daniels, 8 Adrian Paarwater (c), 7 Reece Bocks, 6 Tyler Gessler, 5 Curtley Thomas, 4 Matthew le Roux, 3 Justin Theys, 2 Jacques Van Zyl, 1 Luvo Bazi
Replacements: 16 Luan Du Randt, 17 Dandré Degenaar, 18 Jean-Louis De Lange, 19 Joel Paarwater, 20 Moegamat Labib Kannemeyer, 21 Keagan Fortune, 22 Luke Cyster

FNB Shimlas: 15 Sechaba Matsoele, 14 Cham Zondeki, 13 Kurt Eybers, 12 William Eybers, 11 Marnus Boshoff, 10 Justin Taylor, 9 Izak Burger, 8 Mihlali Peter, 7 Henk Pretorius, 6 Janco Cloete, 5 Mervyn Roos, 4 Sibabalo Qoma, 3 Cornelius Kramer, 2 Hanno Snyman, 1 Bhekinkosi Qaba
Replacements: 16 Willem Marais, 17 John Henry Fincham, 18 Thembinkosi Mangwana, 19 Olehile Losaba, 20 Menzi Nhlabathi, 21 Rewan Kruger, 22 Ruan Henning, 23 Charl Pretorius