FNB UCT go two-for-two as game FNB NWU fall short again

FNB Varsity Cup

FNB UCT took full advantage of home conditions to beat FNB NWU 31-22 and claim their second successive victory of their 2020 FNB Varsity Cup campaign.

The Ikey Tigers kicked off the home leg of their FNB Varsity Cup tournament against a very determined FNB NWU side.

Despite starting the match against the unforgiving winds of the Green Mile, it was the home side who struck first with a phenomenal point-of-origin try from flyhalf James Tedder, which he converted, to give his side a nine-point lead.

The Eagles from Potchefstroom struck back soon after with a try of their own through inside centre, Khulu Mcuma. Unfortunately, scrumhalf Riaan Genis couldn’t add the extras.

Although NWU dominated at scrum time, they struggled to string phases together against a defiant home defence.

Defiant as they were, the home side couldn’t keep the men in purple out forever and a pair of tries from left winger Lincoln Daniels gave NWU an eight-point lead as they headed towards halftime.   

Rayno Mapoe scored deep into the first half for the Ikey Tigers to reduce the deficit to 14-17 at the break.


With the wind at their backs in the second half it was UCT that came out the gates flying. Duly, two tries in two minutes – from stalwarts Gary Porter, Liam Furniss – gave them a commanding lead going into the final quarter of the game.

A further penalty from Tedder took the game out of the visitors’ reach and despite two late yellow cards for the Ikey Tigers, and a late try from Ruan Swigers for NWU, it was the men in blue and white who left the field victorious on the day.

FNB Player That Rocks: Busanda Mabena (FNB UCT)
Steers Kinging Moment: James Tedder (FNB UCT)

FNB UCT: 31 (14)
James Tedder (point of origin), Rayno Mapoe, Gary Porter, Liam Furniss (point of origin)
Conversions: James Tedder 2
Penalty: James Tedder

FNB NWU: 22 (17)
Khulu Mcuma, Lincoln Daniels 2, Ruan Swiegers
Conversion: Riaan Genis

FNB UCT: 15 Athi Gazi, 14 Gerhard Pietersen, 13 Liam Furniss, 12 Michael Brink , 11 Rayno Mapoe, 10 James Tedder , 9 Kyle Bowman, 8 Liam Greenhalgh (captain), 7 Busanda Mabena, 6 Nama Xaba, 5 Gary Porter, 4 Byron Bowes, 3 Ashwyn Adams, 2 Cuan Hablutzel, 1 Gugu Nelani.
Replacements: 16 Josh van Vuuren, 17 Devon Arendse, 18 Luthando Woji, 19 Cornelius Otto, Byron Cranswick, 21 Liam Kloosman, 22 James McDonald, 23 Siba Mzanywa.

FNB NWU: 15 Heinrich Botha, 14 Eugene Hare, 13 Evardi Boshoff, 12 Khulu Mcuma, 11 Lincoln Daniels, 10 Johannes Holtzhausen, 9 Riaan Genis, 8. Edmund Rheeder (captain), 7 Wandi Mazibuko, 6 Morne Piater, 5 Danny du Plooy, 4 Malemba Mpofu, 3 Matimu Manganyi, 2 Tiaan du Randt, 1 Rubin du Plessis.
Replacements: 16 Stefanus Mare, 17 Jason Jansen, 18 Ruan Swiegers, 19 Jeandré Leonard, 20 Wihan Nel, 21 Caleb Louw, 22 Akhona Nela, 23 Lungelo Gosa.