Ikeys’ all-time Varsity Cup Dream Team

FNB Varsity Cup

FNB UCT have clinched two FNB Varsity Cup titles since its inception in 2008, and the university has a tradition of producing exceptional rugby players who have even played at the highest level. But if one were to look back into the vault of past Ikey Tigers, who should be selected as their dream team?

With two current players in the Ikeys’ squad listed in an all-time Ikeys’ Dream Team, this is a formidable starting line-up that you just cannot begin to imagine watching at the Green Mile.

1. Ashwyn Adams
2. Chad Solomon
3. Michael Kumbirai
4. Eben Etzebeth
5. James Kilroe
6. Nizaam Carr
7. Nick Fenton-Wells
8. Nyasha Tarusenga

9. Nic Groom
10. Demetri Catrakilis
11. Marcel Brache
12. Damian de Allende
13. Huw Jones
14. Lihleli Xoli
15. Dillyn Leyds

Coaching staff: Kevin Foote + John Dobson.

Rest assured that if Demetri, as the starting flyhalf, were unfortunately to become injured, Dean Grant who was instrumental in the Ikeys’ 2014 FNB Varsity Cup victory, would don the number 10 jersey.

Who do you think should be in FNB UCT’s all-time dream team?