NWU tame the Ikey Tigers in Potch

FNB Varsity Cup

FNB NWU got revenge on FNB UCT when they won 32-17 at the Fanie du Toit Sports Grounds on Monday 11 March.

FNB UCT kicked off and got the first penalty of the game, with Darian Hock putting his team 3-0 up. FNB NWU replied almost immediately when Reuben du Plooy snuck past FNB UCT’s defence to score his first FNB Varsity Cup try. Five minutes later Du Plooy struck again for FNB NWU, giving them a 12-3 advantage after fifteen minutes of play.

Botter Moloto extended FNB NWU’s lead when he mauled his way over the tryline, putting FNB NWU 19-3 ahead with twenty minutes still to play in the first half. Joshua van Vuuren put FNB UCT back in it when he scored FNB UCT’s first try, and Darian Hock made no mistake with the conversion.

A penalty by Schalk Hugo edged FNB NWU further ahead. FNB NWU’s discipline let them down when Eugene Hare was awarded the first yellow card of the game, and matters only got worse when Gideon van der Merwe received a red card on the cusp of half time. Despite having the odds against them, FNB NWU led 22-10 going into half time.

FNB UCT’s second half was off to a sour note when Brandon Salomo got FNB UCT’s first yellow card of the game. FNB NWU took advantage of FNB UCT’s fourteen men on the field when debutant Edmund Rheeder scored to seal the bonus-point try. Schalk Hugo slotted the conversion to take a 29-10 lead.

Gary Porter gave FNB UCT a glimmer of hope when he scored their first try of the second half, and Darian Hock slotted the conversion to leave FNB UCT chasing a twelve-point deficit. Captain Joshua Moon got FNB UCT’s second yellow card of the evening, but FNB NWU were only able to steal three points to secure a 32-17 win for FNB NWU.

FNB Player That Rocks: Edmund Rheeder
Steers Kinging Moment: Reuben du Plooy

Reuben du Plooy (2), Botter Moloto, Edmund Rheeder
Conversions: Schalk Hugo (3)
Penalties: Schalk Hugo
Yellow cards: Eugene Hare
Red cards: Gideon van der Merwe

Joshua van Vuuren, Gary Porter
Conversions: Darian Hock (2)
Penalties: Darian Hock
Yellow cards: Brandon Salomo, Joshua Moon

FNB NWU: 15. Chuiner van Rooyen, 14. Lungelo Gosa, 13. Evardi Boshoff, 12. Akhona Nela, 11. Lincoln Daniels, 10. Schalk Hugo, 9. Eugene Hare, 8. Edmund Rheeder, 7. Reuben du Plooy, 6. Gideon van der Merwe, 5. Danny du Plooy, 4. Johan Retief, 3. Matimu Manganyi, 2. Louis van der Westhuizen, 1. Botter Moloto.
Reserves: 16. Marius Stander, 17. Nelius Theron, 18. Robert Hunt, 19. Wandi Mazibuko, 20. Wian Conradie, 21. Sylvester Hassien, 22. Nkululeko Mcuma, 23. Keagan Tait.

FNB UCT: 15. Darian Hock, 14. Rayno Mapoe, 13. James Tedder, 12. Robert Ball, 11. Lindelwe Zungu, 10. Jonty Bredell, 9. Brandon Salomo, 8. Nyasha Tarusenga, 7. Joshua Moon, 6. Cornelius Otoo, 5. David Meihuizen, 4. Gary Porter, 3. Michael Kumbirai, 2. Joshua van Vuuren, 1. Devon Arndese
Reserves: 16. Lance Steytler, 17. Tomasz Rosenworth, 18. Simon Raw, 19 Deejay Putter, 20. Busanda Mabena, 21. Armand Pretorius, 22. Michael Brink, 23. Reitumetse Mogoje.