Overall Player That Rocks to win a car for life!

FNB Varsity Cup

The 2021 FNB Varsity Cup Player of the Tournament will drive away in a Toyota Urban Cruiser 1.5Xi courtesy of preferred supplier Hertz Car Rental.

Three player awards – the Overall Player That Rocks, Forward That Rocks and Back That Rocks – will be presented after the FNB Varsity Cup final on Monday, 31 May.

The Overall Player That Rocks is a prestigious award comparable to the Heisman Memorial Trophy, which is awarded annually to the most outstanding player in American college football.

After Round 9 of the tournament, the FNB Varsity Cup head coaches all nominated three players in three categories (excluding their own players), ranked from first to third place. The votes were then collated by the tournament organisers, with first position worth three points, second position two points and third position one point. 

The three players with the most points in each category are now being put forward to the public, whose combined votes via Facebook and the Varsity Cup App will determine the overall winners in the three categories.

Fans can cast their votes on: 

  • The FNB Varsity Cup Facebook page from Thursday, 27 May until 12:00 on Monday, 31 May, the day of the FNB Varsity Cup final at Tuks Stadium (participants can only vote once).  
  • The FNB Varsity Cup App from Thursday, 27 May until 23:59 on Sunday, 30 May (participants can only vote once). 

Only fans who vote via the App stand the chance to win some cash prizes.  

To stand the chance to win one of three R1,000 cash prizes, fans need to download the Varsity Cup App from the App Store or Google Play and follow the instructions on the Fan Zone functionality. Fans need to submit a short video where they declare their choice of Player That Rocks.

“We’re really excited that the Overall Player That Rocks in this year’s FNB Varsity Cup will again win a car courtesy of Hertz,” says Xhanti-Lomzi Nesi, Tournament Manager for FNB Varsity Cup. “The players nominated for this award are the future of South African rugby, so it’s great that the public, who support the FNB Varsity Cup, will have a say in who wins it.” 

2021 FNB Varsity Cup awards nominees: 

Overall Player That Rocks 
Cohen Jasper (FNB CUT Ixias) 
Tinotenda Mavesere (FNB UWC) 
James Tedder (FNB UCT Ikeys) 
Vote on Facebook

Forward That Rocks 
Ben-Jason Dixon (FNB Maties) 
Tinotenda Mavesere (FNB UWC) 
Niel Otto (FNB UCT Ikeys) 
Vote on Facebook

Back That Rocks 
Evardi Boshoff (FNB UCT Ikeys) 
Zander du Plessis (FNB UP-Tuks) 
Munier Hartzenberg (FNB Maties)
Vote on Facebook