Overall Player That Rocks to win a car for life!

FNB Varsity Cup

The 2022 FNB Varsity Cup Player of the Tournament will drive away in a Toyota Urban Cruiser 1.5 XS AT courtesy of preferred supplier Hertz Car Rental.

Three player awards – the Overall Player That Rocks, Forward That Rocks and Back That Rocks – will be presented after the FNB Varsity Cup final at the Danie Craven Stadium on Monday, 25 April.

The Overall Player That Rocks is a prestigious award comparable to the Heisman Memorial Trophy, which is awarded annually to the most outstanding player in American college football.

After the league stage of the tournament, the FNB Varsity Cup head coaches all nominated three players in the three categories (excluding their own players), ranked from first to third place. The votes were then collated by the tournament organisers, with first position worth three points, second position two points and third position one point.

The three players with the most points in each category are now being put forward to the public, whose combined votes will determine the overall winners in the three categories.

The public can cast their votes on the Varsity Cup Facebook page and Instagram page until 12:00 on Monday, 25 April. The public can only vote once on Facebook and once on Instagram. The total combined votes will determine the winners in each category, which will be announced after the final.

‘We’re really excited that the Overall Player That Rocks in this year’s FNB Varsity Cup will again win a car courtesy of Hertz,’ says Xhanti-Lomzi Nesi, Tournament Manager for FNB Varsity Cup. ‘The players nominated for this award are the future of South African rugby, so it’s great that the public, who support the FNB Varsity Cup, will have a say in who wins it.’

2022 FNB Varsity Cup awards nominees:

FNB Back That Rocks

Facebook (all)

Nevaldo Fleurs (Instagram)

Suleiman Hartzenberg (Instagram)

George Lourens (Instagram)

FNB Forward That Rocks

Facebook (all)

Thabo Ndimande (Instagram)

Johannes Terblanche (Instagram)

Sean Swart (Instagram)

FNB Overall Player That Rocks

Facebook (all)

André Fouche (Instagram)

George Lourens (Instagram)

Suleiman Hartzenberg (Instagram)