Rugby That Rocks – Changing Lives since 2008

FNB Varsity Cup

The FNB Varsity Cup has been a life-changing tournament for rugby players, coaches, referees, fans, broadcasters and administrators over the past 13 years.

The 2021 edition of Rugby That Rocks will be played in a bio-secure bubble in Tshwane from 4 April to 24 May and alternate with the FNB Varsity Shield (12 April to 9 May).

With the majority of matches set to take place at Tuks Stadium and no fans in attendance, this year’s stadium will feature something extra for FNB Varsity Cup fans watching live on SuperSport.

“Faced with an empty stadium, we decided to use it as a canvas and showcase the people whose lives have been changed by the tournament,” says Xhanti Lomzi-Nesi, Tournament Manager for Varsity Cup. “All Varsity Cup and Varsity Shield matches will be broadcast on SuperSport and viewers will certainly not miss the big banners we have fixed to the stadium.”

In total, five Changing Lives banners will go up during the tournament and fans can get the full story on the Varsity Cup website.

The first Changing Lives banner, which will be displayed during the first bubble from 4-10 April, features 20 of the 48 FNB Varsity Cup players who have gone on to represent the Springboks, including seven 2019 World Cup winners!

The 20 Springboks on the banner are:

Back row:

  • Courtnall Skosan (FNB Tuks – 2012 & 2013 FNB Varsity Cup winner)
  • Jaco Kriel (FNB UJ, 2012)
  • Robert du Preez (FNB Maties, 2014)
  • Warrick Gelant (FNB UP-Tuks, 2014)
  • Ruan Combrinck (FNB Maties, 2011)
  • Dillyn Leyds (FNB UCT Ikeys, 2012-2013)

Middle row:

  • Oupa Mohojé (FNB UFS Shimlas, 2011-2014)
  • Akker van der Merwe (FNB NWU-Pukke, 2013-2014)
  • Lizo Gqoboka (FNB Madibaz, 2013)
  • Eben Etzebeth (FNB UCT Ikeys – 2011 FNB Varsity Cup winner)
  • Handré Pollard (FNB UP-Tuks – 2013 FNB Varsity Cup winner)
  • Rudy Paige (FNB UJ, 2011-2012)
  • Damian de Allende (FNB UCT Ikeys, 2012)
  • Bongi Mbonambi (FNB TUT, 2011 & FNB UP-Tuks, 2013 – 2013 FNB Varsity Cup winner)

Bottom row:

  • Franco Mostert (FNB UP-Tuks, 2010-2012 – 2012 FNB Varsity Cup winner)
  • Ox Nché (FNB UFS Shimlas, 2015-2016 – 2015 FNB Varsity Cup winner)
  • Jaco Taute (FNB UJ, 2010)
  • Nizaam Carr (FNB UJ – 2011 FNB Varsity Cup winner)
  • Trevor Nyakane (FNB CUT, 2011-2012)
  • Lourens Adriaanse (FNB Maties, 2019-2010)

In addition to the Changing Lives stadium banners, the Varsity Cup website will be producing a series of articles throughout the FNB Varsity Cup and FNB Varsity Shield on those whose lives were never the same again after experiencing Rugby That Rocks. Don’t miss them!