SuperSport's Paul Stubbs pens his 2019 Dream Team

FNB Varsity Cup

Who better to select a Varsity Cup Dream Team for 2019 than a man carefully studying each player every Monday night, as he describes in detail, just how thrilling a season it's been. We asked SuperSport commentator Paul Stubbs to pen a 2019 Dream Team. Here's who he would select.

An abundance of classy players have been lighting up our Monday evenings in the 2019 FNB Varsity Cup. From the top to the bottom of the log, all of the teams continue to crank the standards required to compete in this competition. That makes choosing a Dream Team pretty tricky business. I went with Dobela at flyhalf over the point scoring-machine Chait. Schalk Hugo and Tinus de Beer miss out and they deserve better. 

I could make similar examples for every spot. Chuiner van Rooyen is pure entertainment. Not in my squad. No Ernst van Rhyn and he's a Stormer for goodness sake. Jack Hart, Cornel Smit, BJ Dixon, the list goes on.

Forgive me all my sins, this is my Dream Team:

1 Tshegofatso Moloto (NWU) 
2 Johan Grobbelaar (Tuks)
3 Sazi Sandi  (Maties)
4 Sibabalo Qoma (Shimlas)
5 Ruan Nortje (Tuks)
6 Johann van Niekerk (Maties)
7 Gideon van der Merwe (NWU) 
8 Nyasha Tarusenga (UCT)

9 Chriswill September (NWU)
10 Lubabalo Dobela (Shimlas)
11 Edwill van der Merwe (Maties)
12 Chris Smit (Maties)
13 Ruan Wasserman (CUT)
14 Daniel Bin Kasende Kapepula (Wits)
15 Tristan Leyds (UWC)

16 Louis van der Westhuizen (NWU) 
17 JP Smith (Tuks)
18 Matimu Manganyi (NWU)
19 Malembe Mpofu (UJ)
20 Chris Massyn (Maties)
21 Theo Maree (Tuks)
22 Jordan Chait (Maties)
23 Anton du Toit (Maties)

Coach: Pieter Bergh (CUT) and Hawies Fourie (Maties)