top of page

Eagles snatch Young Guns title from Shimlas at the death

FNB NWU Eagles used their lineout maul to devastating effect to earn a 39-36 win against FNB UFS Shimlas Young Guns in Bloemfontein to be crowned the 2024 FNB Varsity Young Guns champions.  


NWU won the humdinger after the hooter with hooker Hanro Venter crashing over for his fourth try.  


The visitors took an early lead with Venter scoring a converted try in the fifth minute, but UFS equalised minutes later through their loose-head prop, Adriaan van Niekerk. 


Venter scored again to see his team hold an eight-point lead, however, tries by Thomas Dreyer and Stephanus Linde switched things back into UFS’ favour. Angelo Daniels scored a crucial try on the stroke of half-time to claw things back for NWU, with the score 24-20 in favour of UFS.  


A try by Pieter Coetzee and Venter’s third edged the Eagles ahead after the players returned to the field for the second half.  


With ten minutes left to play, the home team regained the lead through a brilliant individual try by Keehan Etson and the mood started to shift back towards Shimlas. 


It was however Venter and the Eagles who had the last laugh with the hooker's fourth try to snatch victory from the jaws of defeat. 


One also has to give NWU flyhalf Michael Mostert a lot of credit for his pinpoint kicks to the touchline to set up the well-functioning lineouts and mauls.  



FNB NWU Eagles Young Guns 39 (20) – Tries: Hanro Venter (4), Angelo Daniels, Pieter Coetzee. Conversions: Michael Mostert (3). Penalties: Michael Mostert. 

FNB UFS Shimlas 36 (24) - Tries: Adriaan van Niekerk, Thomas Dreyer, Stephanus Linde, Keehan Etson. Conversions: Shaun Ray (4). Penalties: Shaun Ray.  

FNB Player That Rocks: Zack Serfontein (FNB NWU Eagles Young Guns)  



FNB NWU Eagles Young Guns: Onalenna Benedict Katake, Hanro Venter, Jason Daniel Oosthuizen, Johan Derrick Van Zyl, Johannes Hendrik Van Der Merwe, Juan Baard, Aqeel De Bruyn, Stephen Seth Taylor, Zack Serfontein, Micheal John Mostert, Angelo Daniels, Pieter Coetzer, Ashwen Franklin Damons, Senekane Mmuse, Jamiane Dampies. 

FNB UFS Shimlas Young Guns: Adriaan Johannes Van Niekerk, Bukhosi Dhlamini, Loyola Uzile Mtwa, Katlego Khumo Lobakeng, Sandile Nzuza, Stephanus Lourens Linde, Marno Gray Stopforth, Liam Chezney Shamburg, Christoffel Jacobus Visser, Shaun Peter Ray, Keehan Nahum Etson, Thomas Frederik Dreyer, Henry James Jonker, Benedictus Marion Claassen, Gunter Van Rensburg. 

1,962 views0 comments



The latest updates


Varsity Shield Final HIGHLIGHTS: FNB Tuks vs FNB Varsity College - 26 April

02 May 2024

Womens final HIGHLIGHTS: FNB Maties vs FNB UFH - 26 April

02 May 2024


24 Apr 2024

bottom of page