top of page

SEMI-FINAL WRAP: Eagles host Ikeys in final


FNB NWU Eagles marched into the 2023 FNB Varsity Cup final with a hard-fought 19-10 victory over FNB Maties in Potchefstroom. The half-time score was 7-3.

The Eagles were the first to score in the 9th minute when Tino Swanepoel received a good pass from Sylvester Hassien following a brilliant piece of play. Zinedine Robinson landed the conversion.

It was a tight, physical game between the two former champions at the Fanie du Toit Sports Ground for much of the first half. The only other points came from a drop goal by Maties’

Jurie Matthee.

A fast start to the second half by the Eagles saw Swanepoel go over for his second try, a superb solo effort after evading the Maties defence. Robinson was once again successful in adding the extra two.

The Maroon Machine fought back with a try from Aydon Topley after a driving maul while Matthee converted to make it 14-10 in favour of the home side.

Things couldn’t get worse for Maties when Marco Van Rhyn was sent to the sin bin with 10 minutes left. The Eagles capitalised on this with Jandre de Beer diving over for his try after a driving maul to claim the victory.

FNB NWU Eagles 19 (7) – Tries: Tino Swanepoel (2), Jandre de Beer. Conversions: Zinedine Robinson (2).

FNB Maties 10 (3) – Tries: Aydon Topley. Conversions: Jurie Matthee. Drop goal: Jurie Matthee.

FNB Player That Rocks: Tino Swanepoel (NWU Eagles)

FNB NWU Eagles: 15 Swanepoel Tino Santino, 14 Windvogel Keano Ricardo, 13 Pretorius Theunis Gerhardus, 12 Phatudi I. S. Vincent Phatudi, 11 Jaarts Naiden, 10 Robinson Zinedine, 9 Hassien Sylvester, 8 Erlank Gustav Zacharias, 7 Bertram Karl-Heinz Henlein, 6 Vermaak Chris, 5 Nel Wihan, 4 Krugel Stephan, 3 Swiegers Ruan (Sampie), 2 Paulo Vernon, 1 du Plessis Ruben.

FNB Maties: 15 Cade Croy, 14 Aydon Topley, 13 Grant de Jager, 12 Waqar Solaan, 11 Marcqiewn Titus, 10 Jurie Matthee, 9 Mckyle Volmoer, 8 De Wet Marais, 7 Louw Nel, 6 Gift Dlamini, 5 Juan Beukes, 4 Matthys Kitshoff, 3 Corné Weilbach, 2 Siaybonga Ngubelanga, 1 Vernon Matonga


FNB UCT Ikeys stormed into the FNB Varsity Cup final with a convincing 65-30 victory over FNB UFS Shimlas in the first semi-final in Bloemfontein. The half-time score was 37-7.

This is the second time in three years the Ikeys achieved this feat. For UFS, it was the second year running they were halted in a home semi-final at Shimla Park after stumbling to FNB UP-Tuks last year.

Long-distance tries by Laro Delport and Reynhardt Croussaw the Ikeys race to a 16-0 lead after just eight minutes on the clock. Then it was the turn of Ntokozo Makhaza, Keagan Blanckenberg and Rethabile Louw to put the game well out of reach of the hosts.

A try on the stroke of halftime by Litha Nkula finally got Shimlas on the board, much to the delight of the passionate home fans.

Duran Koevort struck with a brace early in the second half while David Hayes also crossed the whitewash to bring Ikeys’ try tally to seven.

Shimlas claimed back some pride with tries through Chadd Adams, Javier Farmer and Asanda Kunene. Lezane Davis drove the final nail in the coffin for the Shimlas when he went over just before the final whistle.

For Shimlas it is no doubt heartbreak again after rebounding during the second half of the round-robin matches to put themselves in the position to host the final.

For Ikeys it's on to the final and the possibility of a third Varsity Cup title after they went through the competition almost unnoticed.

FNB UFS Shimlas30 (7) – Tries: Litha Nkula, Chadd Adams, Javier Farmer, Asanda Kunene. Conversions: Ethan Wentzel (3).

FNB UCT Ikeys 65 (37) – Tries: Laro Delport, Reynhardt Crous, Ntokozo Makhaza, Keagan Blanckenberg, Duran Koevort (2), David Hayes, Lezane Davis. Conversions: Ntokozo Makhaza (5). Penalties: Makhaza (2).

FNB Player That Rocks: David Hayes (UCT Ikeys)

FNB UFS Shimlas: 15 Mabece Avuyile, 14 Zondani Siviwe, 13 Annies Michael Jnr Kurt, 12 Wentzel Ethan SJ 11 Kunene Asanda Sihle, 10 Nkula Litha Siyasanga (Levii), 9 Adams Chadd Gabby , 8 Dlamini Kwezi, 7 Mahlasi Thabang, 6 Oosthuizen Lourens, 5 Sjöblom Dylan, 4 Uys Pierre-Raymond, 3 Dos Reis Francisco, 2 Moffat William John, 1 Schutte Johan Danie.

FNB UCT Ikeys: 15 Koevort Duran Ryan, 14 Louw Rethabile Donovan, 13 Boulle Joshua Michael, 12 Lamb Kyle Graeme, 11 Makhaza Ntokozo Sibusiso, 10 Hayes David Robert, 9 Moos Asad, 8 Delport Laro, 7 Ndiao Kyle Enos, 6 Dyonase Siphumezo, 5 van der Westhuizen George, 4 Crous Reynhardt Wouter, 3 le Roux Bryan Justin, 2 Blanckenberg Keagan Jordan, 1 Woji Luthando Solomon.



The latest updates


Varsity Shield Final HIGHLIGHTS: FNB Tuks vs FNB Varsity College - 26 April

02 May 2024

Womens final HIGHLIGHTS: FNB Maties vs FNB UFH - 26 April

02 May 2024


24 Apr 2024

bottom of page