top of page

FNB Varsity Shield – Creating Champions, Changing Lives

All nine FNB Varsity Shield-winning teams will feature on the fourth Changing Lives banner at Tuks Stadium from Sunday.

The FNB Varsity Cup and FNB Varsity Shield have been life-changing tournaments for rugby players, coaches, referees, fans and broadcasters.

With this year's tournaments being played without fans in a bio-secure bubble at the University of Pretoria, Varsity Cup has used Tuks Stadium as a canvas to showcase those whose lives were changed by Rugby That Rocks.

The first banner, which was displayed during the first FNB Varsity Cup bubble, featured 20 of the 48 FNB Varsity Cup players who have gone on to represent the Springboks.

The second banner, for the first four rounds of the FNB Varsity Shield, celebrated FNB Varsity Cup and Shield success stories, while the Pink Shorts campaign was the focus of the third banner during Rounds 4-6 of the FNB Varsity Cup.

The fourth banner, which will be displayed from 2-9 May during Rounds 4-7 of the FNB Varsity Shield as well as the final, features all the teams that have won the Shield since the tournament’s inception in 2011. They are:

  • FNB CUT Ixias (three titles – 2011, 2013, 2014)

  • FNB Wits (two titles – 2012, 2016)

  • FNB UWC (two titles – 2017, 2018)

  • FNB UKZN Impi (one title – 2015)

  • FNB CPUT (one title – 2019)

FNB CUT, FNB Wits and FNB UWC all earned promotion to the FNB Varsity Cup.

The striking banner also features the late Chester Williams, who coached FNB UWC to their two FNB Varsity Shield titles, and FNB WSU, who perform the All Blacks’ haka before their matches.

The Varsity Cup website is also producing a series of articles throughout the FNB Varsity Cup and FNB Varsity Shield on those whose lives were never the same again after experiencing Rugby That Rocks.

Those featured already include former Blitzboks captain Kyle Brown, World Cup-winning former Springbok forwards coach Matt Proudfoot, World Cup-winning Springbok scrumhalf Herschel Jantjies, Springbok wing Raymond Rhule, World Cup-winning Springbok hooker Bongi Mbonambi, Italy coach Franco Smith and Bulls loose forward Tim Agaba.

Also check out the videos by SuperSport presenters Cato Louw and Motshidisi Mohono, whose TV broadcasting careers were kick-started by the FNB Varsity Cup.

FNB Varsity Shield final results:

2011: FNB CUT Ixias 25 FNB Wits 18 2012: FNB Wits 19 CUT Ixias 17 2013: FNB CUT Ixias 29 FNB UWC 19 2014: FNB CUT Ixias 35 UKZN Impi 26 2015: FNB UKZN Impi 29 FNB Wits 24 2016: FNB Wits 39 FNB UWC 2 2017: FNB UWC 45 FNB UFH Blues 2 2018: FNB UWC 55 FNB WSU All Blacks 10 2019: FNB CPUT 32 FNB Madibaz 28

10 views0 comments



The latest updates


Varsity Shield Final HIGHLIGHTS: FNB Tuks vs FNB Varsity College - 26 April

02 May 2024

Womens final HIGHLIGHTS: FNB Maties vs FNB UFH - 26 April

02 May 2024


24 Apr 2024

bottom of page